About Us

Who We Are
Founded in 1979, The Kansas City Metropolitan Bar Foundation (KCMBF) is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization and the charitable arm of the Kansas City Metropolitan Bar Association (KCMBA). 

Our Legal Connection Programs
KCMBF is proud to have three Legal Connection programs that actively improve the justice system throughout the metropolitan Kansas City area: Domestic Violence Alliance, Military Matters, and Student Law Academy. Our Legal Connection programs allow the members of KCMBA to meaningfully give back to the community.

View this video to learn more about two of our Legal Connection programs: Military Matters and Domestic Violence Alliance.

Our Leadership & Governance

The Kansas City Metropolitan Bar Foundation is governed by its Board of Directors, pursuant to the Foundation’s Bylaws. Officers of the Foundation include the President, who is Chairperson; Vice President; Treasurer; Secretary; Immediate Past President; and a Legal Adviser, who each serve a one-year term.

Since 2011, Vickie Mauck has served as Executive Director of KCMBA and KCMBF. Vickie leads KCMBA’s staff and is responsible for the business operations of the Association and Foundation.  Sharra Wagner is the Foundation’s Director and Olivia Jensik is the Foundation's Manager.

KCMBF Board of Directors

Kansas City Metropolitan Bar Foundation’s Board of Directors is the foundation's managing body. They meet at minimum quarterly to discuss and vote on the affairs of the foundation. Members are selected annually from a pool of applicants by the Nominating Committee for one, two, or three-year terms. The Nominating Committee may also choose to appoint Lifetime Members, who are permanent members of the KCMBF's Board of Directors. For more information on the structure and functions of the Board of Directors, please refer to the foundation’s Bylaws.

2021 Board of Directors

Jill M. Katz

Jill M. Katz

Lauren Perkins Allen
Vice President
Lauren Perkins Allen
Lauren Allen, LLC

Leon Versfeld
Leon Versfeld
Versfeld & Hugo, LLC

Russell S. Jones, Jr.

Russell S. Jones, Jr.
Polsinelli PC

Anna Berman
Legal Advisor
Anna Berman
Kutak Rock LLP

Immediate Past President

Peter E. Goss
Peter E. Goss
The Goss Law Firm, PC

Lifetime Members

James R. Bartimus
W.H. 'Bert' Bates
Thomas V. Bender
Gregory M. Bentz
P. John Brady
Patricia A. Dorsey
James P. Frickleton
Peter E. Goss
Scott C. Gyllenborg
John S. Johnston
Hon. Cynthia L. Martin
Hon. Ann Mesle
Timothy W. Monsees
Sandra L. Schermerhorn
David M. Skeens
J. Harlan Stamper
Wm. Dirk Vandever
R. Lawrence Ward
Robert C. Welch
Fred Wilkins
Hon. J.D. Williamson, Jr.
Jerome T. Wolf
James R. Wyrsch

KCMBF Past Presidents

KCMBF Past Presidents