About Us

Who We Are
Founded in 1979, The Kansas City Metropolitan Bar Foundation (KCMBF) is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization and the charitable arm of the Kansas City Metropolitan Bar Association (KCMBA). 

Our Legal Connection Programs
KCMBF is proud to have three signature programs that actively improve the justice system throughout the metropolitan Kansas City area: Domestic Violence Alliance, Military Matters, and Student Law Academy. Our Legal Connection programs allow the members of KCMBA to meaningfully give back to the community.

View this video to learn more about two of our Legal Connection programs: Military Matters and Domestic Violence Alliance.

Our Leadership & Governance
The Kansas City Metropolitan Bar Foundation is governed by its Board of Directors, pursuant to the Foundation’s Bylaws. Officers of the Foundation include the President, who is Chairperson; Vice President; Treasurer; Secretary; Immediate Past President; and a Legal Adviser, who each serve a one-year term, beginning upon their election at the Annual Meeting.

Since 2011, Vickie Mauck has served as Executive Director of KCMBF. Vickie leads KCMBA’s staff of 13 employees and is responsible for the business operations of the Association and Foundation.  Sharra Wagner is the Foundation’s Director.

KCMBF Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of the Kansas City Metropolitan Bar Foundation is the Foundation’s managing body. The Foundation’s Board of Directors meets quarterly to discuss and vote on the affairs of the Foundation. Directors are selected annually from a pool of applicants by a nominating committee for one, two, or three-year terms. The Nominating Committee may also choose to appoint lifetime members, who are permanent members of the Foundation’s Board of Directors. For more information on the structure and functions of the Board of Directors, please refer to the Foundation’s Bylaws.

2019 Board of Directors

Scott C. Gyllenborg

Vice President

Peter E. Goss

Jill M. Katz


Lauren Perkins Allen

Legal Advisor
Leon Versfeld

Immediate Past President

Thomas V. Bender

(Through 2019)

Scott S. Bethune
Daniel E. Blegen
Russell S. Jones, Jr.
Nancy E. Kenner
Joseph A. Kronawitter
 Shawn Lee
Meghan A. Litecky
eith A. Starr

(Through 2020)

Anna Berman
James R. ("J.R.") Hobbs
Adam Krause
Lauren Tucker McCubbin
Anthony S. McDaniel
Wes Shumate
Tamara Veit
Darrion A. Walker

(Through 2021)

Kelisen R. Binder
Brandee B. Bower
Abraham D. Kuhl
Jeffrey Q. McCarther
Ronald Nguyen
Phyllis A. Norman 
Jennifer R. Reagan
David W. White

Lifetime Members

James R. Bartimus
W.H. 'Bert' Bates
Gregory M. Bentz
P. John Brady
Jack L. Campbell
Patricia A. Dorsey
James P. Frickleton
John S. Johnston
Hon. Cynthia L. Martin
Hon. Ann Mesle
Timothy W. Monsees
Sandra L. Schermerhorn
David M. Skeens
J. Harlan Stamper
Wm. Dirk Vandever
R. Lawrence Ward
Robert C. Welch
Fred Wilkins
Hon. J.D. Williamson, Jr.
Jerome T. Wolf
James R. Wyrsch

KCMBF Past Presidents

KCMBF Past Presidents